« Back to Museum Complex

Museum Main Building

Museum Main Building

The Museum’s Main Building was originally the Longmarket Street Girls Primary School – until 1972, when the school moved to its current premises. It was built in 1905 according to a design by architect A.E. Dainton, who modelled it on schools in England and Europe.

It became the property of the Voortrekker museum in 1985. Housed in this building are the reception, gift shop, staff offices, library and auditorium. Various displays are mounted in sections of this building, including the History of Pietermaritzburg, Tapestry of Cultures, Birth of Democracy and Prince Imperial displays. The museum recently acquired a beautiful Herb garden, and visitors can also see a traditional Zulu hut and a small private Hindu temple on site.